Pharmacy as healthcare profession came to Nigeria in mid-19th Century. Most of those early trained were called dispensers. Training was in Yaba Higher College (Now Yaba College of Technology), the first and oldest higher institution in Nigeria. Training of Pharmacy graduates started at University of Ife, Ile-Ife, and now Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU). The pioneer Pharmacists worked in government hospitals & private chemists as dispensers who mixed medicines in quantities prescribed.

Formation of PSN

In 1926 Mr. Alfred E. Philips, the Chief Dispenser of the Medical Department & early trainer of Government Dispensers retired from service on December 2, 1926. On January 1, 1927, at a reception in Mr. Philip’s honour, the decision to form the “Association of Government Dispensers” was taken, it later became the “Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria.


Nigerian Union of Pharmacists (NUP) was formed in 1947
NUP served to put pressure on Government to improve compensation and labour conditions for Pharmacists
PSN was registered in 1956 with the Corporate Affairs Commission
1977, when Nigeria’s Central Labour Organisation restructured, the NUP opted out formally, leaving the PSN as the only professional umbrella body of Pharmacists.
PSN Grows
  • PSN today maintains branches in all the states of the Federation
  • In 1972, Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi, FPSN, FPCPharm, OFR, mni designed the Pharmacy Emblem (“Green Cross” or the “Rx Sign.”) and later composed the Pharmacy Anthem
  • The Pharmacy Emblem, a property registered with Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) (with Reg. No. RT M 63583) belongs to the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN)
  • The PSN entrusted the ACPN with power of attorney to manage the Pharmacy Emblem
  • The Emblem made its debut in 1976, and till date functions as a mark of identification for Registered and Pharmacists-owned Pharmaceutical Premises (retails).
  • The Council of PSN has resolved that the PCN shall henceforth enforce the use of pharmacy emblem and the Registrar has been mandated to see to this.
Chain of Change

A motion was moved and passed in 1979 at the AGM / Annual National Conference of the PSN in Umuahia (present Abia State)“Pharmacists practicing in different areas of Pharmacy should come together and organize themselves to form Technical Groups of the PSN”

Five groups emerged, including the Nigerian Association of General Practice Pharmacists (NAGPP)

It comprised of Pharmacists in wholesaling, retailing, distribution and importation of medicines

  • The formative NAGPP meeting took place in Benin City in 1980
  • It was under the leadership of the Late Pharm. (Sir) Samuel E. Agboifo FPSN, (Protem National Chairman 1980–83)
  • The Protem National Secretary was The Late Pharm. (Hon.) Abioye Oyetunji FPSN from 1980 to 1983
  • The first NAGPP Annual National Conference was in 1983
  • The Late Pharm. S. O. B. Dada, FPSN was the first elected National Chairman
  • Pharm. Babatunde D. Hunponu-Wusu, FPSN was the National Secretary 1983–84
  • At the Enugu NAGPP Annual National Conference, Pharm. (Chief) A. O. Ezegbo, FPSN was elected the National Chairman, 1984–85
  • In 1985, at Ibadan conference, Pharm. S. O. B. Dada, FPSN became the National Chairman for the second time 1985-1988
  • NAGPP was renamed Nigerian Association of Community Pharmacists (NACP) in the early 2000s
  • The NACP was registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) in 2007
  • The (CAC) mandated all NGOs to stop using “Nigerian” in beginning of their identities. This forced a change of name from NAGPP to ACPN in 2013
  • The ACPN’s Vision, Mission and Logo plaque was created and presented in 2013

ACPN boasts of a standard, well equipped Drug Information Centre (DIC) & publishes:

  • ACPN Drug Bulletin (a biannual Scientific Journal)
  • ACPN National Newsletter
  • You & Your Pharmacist (health information & news for the Public)
  • Self-help Patient information leaflets

The ACPN now has its own secretariat building in Ikeja-Lagos

board of trustees

Past Trustees

  • Pharm. (Prince) Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi FPSN, FPCPharm, OFR, mni
  • Pharm (Mrs.) Rosemary Nikoro FPSN, FPCPharm
  • Pharm (Sir) Ike Onyechi FPCPharm, FPSN
  • Pharm (Mrs.) Caroline O. Ogbe-Urevbu FPSN
  • Pharm (Alh.) Abdul-Rahaman Musa Momodu FPSN

Present Trustees

  • Dr. Nelson U. O Uwaga mni, FPSN, FPCPharm, FNAPharm, FNIM, KJW
  • Pharm (Sir) Anthony Akhiemien FPSN, FPCPharm, FNIM, mni
  • Hon. Pharm John Tseigbile Enger FPSN
  • Pharm Elizabeth Ngozi Odili (Miss) FPSN
  • Pharm (Prince) olufemi Ismail Adebayo FPSN

The Dome Event Centre